My/my baby’s happy birth day

22 August 2009 at 1:00 am Leave a comment

One year ago today I gave birth to my sweet baby boy in our sunny, bright yellow bedroom, so today is his first birthday, and the one-year anniversary of my birth day.

I read that in Korea–where a woman who has just given birth is supposed to eat huge quantities of a restorative seaweed soup–everyone is supposed to eat a bowl of that same soup on their own birthday, to remind them of their mother’s labor and birth day. I think that’s a nice custom–I have to say, this year I really did think differently about the day I was born, actually thinking about what it might mean to my mother. 

Okay, my baby and I are off to enjoy seaweed soup together today. 

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Reducing Infant Mortality video Motherhood and rationality

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Updates

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

