What I wish I’d known back then about breastfeeding

25 October 2009 at 7:56 pm 16 comments

WELCOME, October Carnival of Breastfeeding readers! Please follow the links at the bottom of this post to the other great contributors this month!

My baby is fourteen months old and nursing 3-4 times a night and about that much during the day (more if we’re home together all day). When I think back to the day he was born and his very first attempts to latch on, it seems incredible that it was so long ago. What do I wish I’d known back then? Well. . .

  • that even though it would seem that my two-week-old, happy-spitter baby spat up his entire feed, everyone who says “it’s only spit-up, it’s only a small amount, don’t worry about it” really is right.
     
  • that breastmilk can apparently fix any problem there is: baby has a stuffy nose? use breastmilk in the nostril; baby is cranky, has an upset stomach, or took a stumble? breastfeeding to the rescue; baby has gunky eyes? place a drop of breastmilk in the corner. Sometimes I bet a careful application of breastmilk can fix the ozone layer!
     
  • that breastfeeding can be silly: my mobile baby would cruise over to me as I lay on the couch and then nurse standing up, almost like drinking from a water fountain; my boy now will in the morning one minute be playing on the foot of the bed with a stuffed animal and then bounding up to me, lowering himself onto my nipple, and latching on with a silly grin and a side-long look. 
     
  • that I’d love it.

–Christina

READ WHAT THESE GREAT BLOGGERS HAVE TO SAY ON THE SUBJECT. . . 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Mama mammals of the world, unite! Improving the outcome for birthing moms

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. strwberryjoy  |  25 October 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I’ve put breastmilk on my own pimples! I swear it works like magic!

    Reply
  • 2. Whozat  |  25 October 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Yes yes and yes!

    My Peeper will be one in a couple of days (!) and isn’t quite mobile yet, but she’s starting with the silly stuff, and I just love it!

    Reply
  • [...] What I Wish I’d Known Back Then About Breastfeeding by Christina at Massachusetts Friends of Midwives [...]

    Reply
  • [...] If there is anything you’ve learned, as a mother or father, and would like to share, please leave a comment. Don’t forget to check out the links to the other posts from the Carnival of Breastfeeding: “What I Wish I’d Known Back Then About Breastfeeding,” by Christina at Massachuset… [...]

    Reply
  • 5. » What I Wish I Would Have Known About Breastfeeding  |  25 October 2009 at 9:36 pm

    [...] What I Wish I’d Known Back Then About Breastfeeding – by Massachusetts Friends of Midwives (Christina) [...]

    Reply
  • [...] Massachusetts Friends of Midwives: What I Wish I’d Known Back Then About Breastfeeding [...]

    Reply
  • 7. Robin Elise Weiss, LCCE  |  25 October 2009 at 10:10 pm

    My favorite realization is that spitting up is a LAUNDRY problem only. Though I do agree breast milk is a cure all.

    Reply
  • 8. Melodie  |  25 October 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I bet it could save the ozone too. Good idea! LOL!

    Reply
  • 9. Lauren @ HoboMama  |  26 October 2009 at 12:20 am

    Aw, that last one was so sweet! I forgot about the newborn eye-gunk thing. Breastmilk really came in handy there, as well as for his wee stuffy nose.

    Reply
  • 10. Tracy  |  26 October 2009 at 3:20 am

    This is so sweet! Loved reading this! ;-) Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 11. Fancy Pancakes  |  26 October 2009 at 7:14 am

    OK I feel better that my 7 month old also wakes up 3 times a night.
    I also remember the first latch on- pretty awesome, and cool that the baby knows just what to do. The start of a great relationship!

    Reply
  • 12. Cave Mother  |  26 October 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I am so glad I read this post, My babe is 14 months old as well and also nurses 3-4 times during the day and 3-4 times at night. Someone else with a baby like mine! Woohoo! We also have the vertical nursing adventures and morning craziness on the bed – or boob diving, as I like to call it. It’s amazing how our nursing relationship has developed, but one thing is abundantly clear: my daughter LOVES my millk.

    Reply
  • 13. Elita  |  26 October 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Yes, who could have imagined how silly nursing a toddler could be? Mine loves to do gymnastics on the boob!

    Reply
  • 14. Rita/Fighting Off Frumpy  |  26 October 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I didn’t know how many uses breastmilk has – how interesting! Now I’ll be going around dabbing it onto everything. :)

    Reply
  • 15. Megan  |  27 October 2009 at 7:47 am

    I so agree with the first one! I used to be very paranoid about my son spitting up. He was just an eager nurser. :) Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 16. elm18  |  28 October 2009 at 5:14 am

    Breastmilk gives you great skin when used to wash your face!

    I also use it to get rid of baby’s rashes!

    BREASTMILK is truly the best! Haha!:)

    Been breast feeding a little over a year now and have no idea when or IF I even need to stop. :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Updates

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

