Mom + baby–when do they separate?

20 August 2010 at 1:42 am 2 comments

As my son turns two years old this week, I’m pondering this question–when does an attached mom and baby pair start to separate? I mean, in some sense it starts at birth, obviously, and the cutting of the cord is a great symbol of the beginning of the separation. But I still feel so much like my son and I are part of the same person–it’s hard to explain to other people, even to my husband, I think.

Every afternoon, my son and I cuddle and nurse and play together. This started in the semester I went back to work, when he was five months old, and at first, after being away from him for 6-8 hours, I could barely stand it anymore–I would fly across town in a cab, scoop him up from the daycare, and not let go of him until the next morning. Literally. As time went on, I got better–I would still feel itchy and ill at ease at the end of the workday, but I could usually manage to hold it together until I ran to him. And when I got to him–this was when he was eighteen, nineteen, twenty months old–I was able, sometimes, to stop at the playground on the way home from daycare, not just hold him in my arms endlessly.

But we still take this time to reconnect in a very physical way at the end of each day, late afternoon, before my husband gets home. Now I sit at the dining room table on a chair-bench made for two, and my son sits on my lap, stands on the chair, romps over me, sits on the edge of the table and falls into my arms, and plays the game my husband calls “The Liontamer,” when I, laughing, stick my nose closer and closer into my baby’s wide-open, toothy, hysterical mouth, and he plays at catching it.

If a day goes by and for some reason I don’t get this time, I feel cheated–and worse, I feel jumpy, like an addict without her fix. I said this, recently, to a friend who has gone a year being sober, now, and then I thought maybe I sounded insensitive, like I was trivializing the very serious issue of addiction. “No,” he said, thinking about it, “I think you’re right. It’s the most primal form of addiction there is, mom and baby.”

Someday, I know, my son will be completely his own separate person–just not now.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

One thing I missed after giving birth. . . Top 5 Myths of Early Attachment

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mfom  |  20 August 2010 at 7:47 pm

    ugh. i know that day will arrive, but i surely do not wish it here any faster than it is already coming.

    Reply
  • 2. Johanna S  |  23 August 2010 at 8:45 pm

    My daughter is 35 months. I feel that the past year has been huge for us, particularly the past six months. Right now, her and I have a ritual, our time to reconnect, to talk about the day, to hug, play silly games, do kisses, and nurse before bed. It feels different, though, because the older she gets the more she is interested in socializing with peers. In other words, she loves her mommy time, but she also very much loves her time with kids her age. I feel as though parenthood is an ever-lasting transition! You will witness a huge transition in the next year, but you and your child will be fine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Recent Posts

Updates

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

