Archive for 24 August 2010

Spill something on your baby

This weekend I was in a Balkan restaurant near my parents’ house, eating pljeskavica with my parents, husband, and two-year-old son. My boy loved the savory meat and had already demolished quite a bit of it when he decided, basically, that he was full (and also sleepy–it was close to bedtime) and looking for some milk to wash it down. He curled up in my lap, feet hanging over the booth near his grandma, and nursed while we all finished our meal. “You didn’t eat all your onions?” I asked my husband at one point, grabbing some of his and adding them to the meat patty I was eating. “No, I saved you some so you could drop them on the baby,” he said, and when I looked down I saw that, yes, I had indeed dropped some onions on my son’s tee shirt-clad belly. He was unbothered. I picked them off.

“You know, if you don’t drop food on a baby,” I began, thinking aloud. . .

“–then I don’t think you’re being a real mother,” my mother finished for me. “Your baby’s probably stuffed into his carseat far away from you for the whole meal. This is much better. See, he doesn’t mind!”

So, yeah, go ahead–drop some* food on your baby. Just keep your baby close to you.

–Christina

*not hot!

24 August 2010 at 8:22 pm 1 comment


Twitter updates

Recent Posts

Updates

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.