Cheers for vaginal birth!

18 September 2011 at 8:22 am 1 comment

An online friend just had a vaginal breech birth, in a hospital, here in Massachusetts. That shouldn’t be such a rarity, such a cause for celebration, but things being what they are in this country, it unfortunately is. When I mentioned this to my midwife, she knew immediately which OB and which hospital she must have used, because, again, it’s such a rarity to find an OB who is willing to attend a vaginal breech birth. I guess this is a good news/bad news post, then–good news, and many cheers and congratulations, for my friend, and bad news for the vast majority of women who are simply given no other option but major surgery when they have a breech baby close to term.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Expectations: thoughts on a second pregnancy, birth, and child I’ve figured it out!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Maren  |  20 April 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Is there any way I can find out from you who the OB was? I’m pregnant with my fourth child, who just flilpped breech at 37 weeks, and have not heard of any OBs in Mass. who do vaginal breech deliveries (and I’ve asked!). I’m going to the chiropractor, doing a version, etc., but I’d like the opportunity to possibly pursue a vaginal delivery with an experienced provider if baby won’t turn….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Recent Posts

Updates

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

