Hypnobirthing

26 August 2008 at 7:07 pm 6 comments

What are your thoughts on hypnobirthing?  Is it used commonly these days?  When I discovered it a couple of years ago I wondered where it was hiding when I was having babies so many years ago.  Recently, one of my daughters used it and it was wonderful.  Not painless, but so much more manageable.  Her midwife was delighted when she told her she planned to use it.  Another daughter plans to use it next month and I hope her results are similar.  Though she will be birthing in a different part of the country, her midwife was “relieved” when she learned my daughter would use it.  She said it makes the whole thing easier on everyone involved.  However, neither of them had it suggested by their midwife, rather found it on her own.  Anyone have experiences to share?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Should We Push for Better Birth on Television as Well? Home birth attacks…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mfomgal  |  26 August 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I have heard really mixed stories about hypnobirthing. Many women I know have had great experiences with it, but my own group of midwives seemed pretty dismissive about it based on their observing their own client’s births.

    I don’t think it is a substitute for childbirth education done by class or extensive reading, but I think it is a wise thing to look into.

    I think birth is so much more mental than we understand, so I think hypnosis can be very impactful.

    Reply
  • 2. Katharine Graves  |  27 August 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Hypnobirthing is a complete childbirth education course on its own, and it’s the only thing I know that really makes a difference. I constantly receive reports of calm, gentle and easy births. Of course you can’t guarantee this, but hypnobirthing makes a difference whatever birth you have. Many people find that it also makes a huge difference to the baby, and hypnobirthing babies are calm, alert and thrive well. I just wish every mother could do it.

    Katharine

    Katharine Graves is a hypnobirthing teacher in London

    Reply
  • 3. mfomcontributor  |  28 August 2008 at 8:38 am

    My daughter who already used it insists that you get out of it what you put into preparation. I was present for her last birth (not hypno) and for her recent hypnobirth and I saw such a huge difference. Peace. For both her and her baby. Now she is bugging her sister to “practice, practice, practice” for her upcoming hypnobirth. In conjunction, I bought a hypnodoula course which came with a script and some c.d.’s. I found that it was extremely helpful. Very different approach from the doula work I’ve done for non hypnobirths. I’m thinking that if there has been adequate preparation, “hypno” would have a huge and very positive impact on the face of birthing.

    Reply
  • 4. Miriam Midwife  |  24 December 2008 at 9:54 am

    I fond this thread searching the topic midwives against Hypnobirthing. I am a Licensed Midwife in Florida (mostly home-births) band work for a birth center. I am also a certified Hypnobirthing practitioner (10 years) The training I received was awful. I was never taught how to teachit and I spoke with Ms. Mongan and she offered to have me sit in on another taining since that instructor had been let go for similar complaints. I was not able to sit in on another class so using their scripts and techniques I made my ownlesson plans. IT WORKED GREAT! My clients had beautiful birth that were manabible and satisfying. I taught successfully for 5 years. When I joined Hollywood Birth Center, I got a lot of “oh no not Hypnobirthing: comments from the other midwives and I could not understand why. I soon got too busy and stopped teaching and soon began to realize that they ad reason to be concerned. Parents taking the Hypnobirthing classes from other pratitioners (ones who had gotten better training than me) had unrealistic expectations of painless births. THe transport rate for pain meds was significantly higher than non Hypnobirth clients. The thought that there births would be pain free. THose who did not transfer expressd disappointment in themselves for “doing it wrong” and feeling pain. I have also had many issues arise in second stage. Instead of breathing down the baby, they seem to breath through the contractions and make little to no progress. Our law reads 2 hours second stage max before I have to transport and so many of my hypnobirthers are not doing it. I do hands off births. little to no vginals, no directed pushing, no check progress with vag exas, and mom catches her own baby. I think myself to be open minded but I am losing patience with Hypnobirthing…any thoughts?

    Reply
  • 5. enjoybirth  |  15 January 2009 at 8:43 pm

    There are a few different hypnosis for childbirth programs out there.

    I used HypnoBirthing for my 2nd birth and Hypnobabies for my 3rd and the preparation with Hypnobabies was so much more complete and my birth much more comfortable. You can read my experiences here. http://www.pregnancybirthandbabies.com/comparison_between_hypnoclasses.htm

    Here is something from a Hypnobabies instructor who was a HypnoBirthing instructor and her experiences.
    http://www.birthnaturally.org/hypnobirthing.htm

    So I know hypnosis can be a great tool for childbirth!

    Reply
  • 6. mfomcontributor  |  16 January 2009 at 10:25 pm

    One of my daughters who used Hypnobabies also went to a Hypnobirthing series of classes, and she was very disappointed. Both of my “hypno” daughters used Hypnobabies. The home course was so much better for them because it was available at all times so they could practice whenever there was a moment. They both practiced a whole lot. I also think the doula, if there is one, may have a lot to do with it. I did the Hypnobabies doula course and found it so different from what I did as a doula for a non-hypno birth. If i had not learned the “script”, I would have said things that would hopefully have helped a non-hypno mom, but would have done great damage to my Hypnobabies daughters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


