International Babywearing Week–musings and meet-up

22 September 2009 at 2:29 pm 2 comments

This is International Babywearing Week, by the way–their motto this year is “close enough to kiss,” and (uh, barring back carries) that’s how my baby is whenever I wear him. Sadly, there don’t seem to have been any/many events in Massachusetts–next year, maybe! I was also disappointed there weren’t any/many events in MA for World Breastfeeding Week this summer (just a tiny thing in Waltham was all I could find information on). What’s with us MA folk? I know there are other babywearers out there–the Boston Babywearers I believe have a meeting tomorrow in Somerville, but their website is not always up to date, so it’s hard to find out about it–we just have to get it together to get together!

Anyway, if there are any babywearers in the Boston area who are reading this, it would be cool to make our presence felt around the city this week. I’m going to be at the Boston Beantown Jazz Festival on Saturday (a great, family-friendly streetfair with live music, a really multicultural feel, food ranging from homemade Thai to fabulous Southern BBQ, and a location right on the T–and also right next to a playground). I live right on the block of the festival, so I will be there, wearing my baby either in a wrap or mei tai (depending on the temperature).

In short, I know that we friends of midwives have babywearers in our midst–let’s try for an informal meet-up–leave a comment below if you’d be up for trying.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

More on the cost-cutting benefits of homebirth MA midwife gets some good press

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  22 September 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I’m trying to do a booth on Saturday in Duxbury, MA, but a lot of the folks down here can’t make it (we just got the word yesterday that we could have a tent). I would love to highlight babywearing! I think it would be a friendly venue for babywearing and midwifery.
    The booth would be at the MA Audubon Farm Days at the Daniel Webster Sanctuary in Duxbury. I represent the Natural Child Collaborative and we usually have LLL, midwives, and Holistic Moms represented (sometimes a local school, a vendor, etc.). Paige and Jessica P have other obligations this weekend, unfortunately.

    So if anyone is interested in coming South of Boston, let me know, I need to call about this Wednesday morning/mid afternoon. jessjgh1 at gmail.com
    http://thenaturalchildcollaborative.blogspot.com/

    Jessica

    Reply
    • 2. christinamichaud  |  23 September 2009 at 4:52 am

      Sounds great! I love that there’s an option for the South Shore folk! I hope your booth works out great!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


