Looking back at my homebirth–regrets?

4 October 2009 at 1:38 am 1 comment

Let me say first of all that I don’t have any regrets at all about my actual homebirth thirteen months ago. Looking back on it, though, I realized that there are a few things I wish I’d done differently, from both before and after the birth:

  • I wish I’d had a professional series of maternity shots done–bare belly and all–when I was really, really pregnant. At the time, I toyed with the idea and tossed it out because I figured I’d feel funny posing for a photographer. 
  • I wish I’d limited visitors more in the first few days after having my baby. We had one family visitor the day I had him, seven friends (including two kids) in two shifts two days after the birth, and two more friends three days after the birth. It was just a lot, especially since I was having a hard time getting my baby to latch on, and I was more exhausted by the visits than I’d anticipated.
  • I wish I’d ignored my family’s well-meaning advice to “put the baby down” and “give myself a break” from holding him in the first few days and week after the birth. I only felt well–whole, and happy–while holding him, and it was torture to me to put him in the Moses basket, even just a few feet away from me, to sleep in the living room while I sat on the couch. I felt like my breasts, my arms, my bones ached to hold him constantly, and it took me a week or so to overrule my family and just put my foot down and hold my baby.

And that’s it, really–not that many regrets after all. Ultimately, I’m not planning on having another child, so this is all pretty much a theoretical exercise, but there it is. 

What about you? Any regrets/things you’d do differently “next time”?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Massachustts. . . Families. . . of Midwives? Book review: Birth Day (Sloan, 2009)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dunnpenquite  |  6 May 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I regret going to the hospital:( I had two “natural” births that didn’t go as I REALLY planned. Next time I’ll stay home!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


