Duggar Homebirth on TLC tomorrow night

12 October 2009 at 4:36 am 10 comments

Supposedly there’s a midwife, doula, and full father-support here–I’m interested in watching the episode to see how the mom handles birth and how the whole thing is presented. Hopefully this won’t make people think that homebirth is as far outside of the norm as a family with 18+ kids. . . nothing against the Duggars, but really, can’t there be a great special made with some nice, middle-of-the-road families–kind of a cross-section of America–having their homebirths?

Anyway, watch it tomorrow night on TLC and let’s see how it is.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Thoughts from the recent birth of my son…. More on the Grand-duggar. . . (homebirth)

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. srh  |  12 October 2009 at 9:12 am

    I agree she’s a little out there to be someone you want to get behind for a home birth proponant, but she has had c-sections before and I believe every other birth has been in a hospital, so she does lend some support to homebirths being safe etc. even after other types of births

    Reply
  • 2. J.D.  |  12 October 2009 at 9:12 pm

    In reference to the first comment, it’s not the mom Michelle Duggar who gives birth at home, it’s her daughter-in-law who is having her first baby with the Duggar’s son. It’s Michelle’s grandchild that is born.
    I will definitely try to watch. I think the more homebirth is portrayed, the more normal it may become. It will be interesting to see what Michelle thinks of this as she has had all 18 babies at the hospital. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 3. Christina Michaud  |  13 October 2009 at 5:09 am

      Yes, as the second poster said, it’s the Duggars’ first grandchild who was born at home–I also agree that I think it willl be very interesting, and that in general, the greater the exposure to natural birth, the more natural people will begin to see it.

      Reply
      • 4. crg  |  16 October 2009 at 8:00 pm

        Yup, somebody else posted on their site about it- #6 and 7 were born at home. She had a link to the Duggars’ book, which talks about it, but I can’t get it to paste here. You can look at it on amazon.

    • 5. crg  |  16 October 2009 at 7:57 pm

      I strongly remember them saying that at least one of their children (Jim Bob and Michelle’s) was born at home. When they moved out of their old house it was something that was mentioned as a reason why they were sad to leave. I think it was one of the girls- if not more.

      Reply
  • 6. Kiki  |  13 October 2009 at 9:58 am

    I couldn’t agree more. Where oh where are the run of the mill American women having homebirths? I have had 2 homebirths and am planning my third for this spring. I consider myself to be an Average Jane: work full time, have a college education, eat junk food every now and then, and can’t remember the last time I went to church.

    So many times, when hb is in the spotlight, there is juuuusssstttt enough of a reason to make it unrelatable to the Average Jane. “Oh, well, they are ultra religious.” Or, “Oh, they live off the grid and off the land in Vermont.” Or “The mom was in the Peace Corps and witnessed fill-in-indigeneous-race give birth in huts.”

    But I do agree, the more and more it is actually in the spotlight, the better, no matter how unrelatable it may be for others:)
    http://www.kikilaroo.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  13 October 2009 at 11:42 pm

    FTR, Michelle Duggar did have a couple of homebirths. I’m not sure how many total and I’m not totally sure why she went back to hospital births, it could be due to being a VBAC mom or because she’s at a very high risk for hemorrhage.

    Reply
  • 8. Kiki  |  14 October 2009 at 8:27 am

    I’ve read too that she’s had everything…hb, cs, hosp birth, but I’m curious…why is she at a very high risk for hemorrhage???

    Reply
    • 9. Christina Michaud  |  14 October 2009 at 2:21 pm

      I haven’t read anything about this in Michelle’s case particularly, but my guess is that she’s now considered high risk of PPH because of how many children she’s had. Still, opinions differ on this issue–read these archives for more: http://www.radmid.demon.co.uk/pphmulti.htm
      http://www.homebirth.org.uk/multipara.htm

      Reply
      • 10. Kiki  |  16 October 2009 at 8:36 pm

        THat’s why I was curious…I know mws here who serve Amish populations and have just as many kids as Michelle and are not considered hi risk for pph (nor do they have pph). I’ll have to read the archives THX:D

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


