Quick link: Baltimore article on free birth

22 November 2009 at 1:25 am 1 comment

I think most of us here at this site are fans of midwives, but most would also agree that a women who chooses to give birth alone should be supported in her decision. This article in the Baltimore Sun is quite the mixed bag–with obligatory, ill-informed quotes from Harvard-associated OBs, for example–but it ultimately ends on a positive note with a nice quote from a free-birther.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Midwifery Alert! Going unassisted…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Johanna S  |  22 November 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I felt like the comment about the increase in c-sections was not accurate, to say the least. It implies that most c-sections happen because mom is obese. That being said, after reading and learning so much during the past six months, I am all up for a birth center or a midwife at home, but I would not have an unassisted birth. Yes, I am educated and informed, but, in the midst of labor, would I really be in a good position to assess whether or not something went wrong? Furthermore, how could I help my child and myself? I much rather have a midwife who got trained and has a great deal of experience. This is not meant to criticize those who opt to have an unassisted birth. This is simply my opinion on what feels right for my family. Thank you for sharing the article. It was nice that it did not make mom look like an uneducated nutcase!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


