Happy Thanksgiving!

26 November 2009 at 1:21 am Leave a comment

Happy Thanksgiving to all midwives, natural birthers, breastfeeders, attached mamas, and, really, to all! I’m spending this Thanksgiving in New York with family, and we are particularly thankful that my mother is home from the hospital after several months of illness, surgery, and complications.

It was shocking to see my mom when we first arrived: she’d been in the hospital for over three weeks, and she was down to only 87 pounds. We’re trying to take good care of her and encourage her to keep walking, eating, and getting stronger. My mom stayed with us before, during, and after I gave birth to my son at home, and she was a huge encourager for me at that time. In the video my husband took during labor, you see my mom in the background, sitting near the foot of the bed, saying warm and supportive things and, at at least one point, obviously praying. She’s got a road to recovery ahead of her longer than my labor was, that’s for sure.

Happy Thanksgiving to all, whatever you’re all thankful for!

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going unassisted… Holiday gifts for your midwife!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


