Yes, thanks, I do want a midwife.

15 January 2010 at 5:30 pm 1 comment

I needed a refill of my birth control pill prescription last week, but the receptionist from my care provider’s office called and said they wouldn’t give me a refill until I came in for a well-woman exam, because it had been too long since they’d checked my blood pressure, etc. Okay, fine–I’m not at all against well-woman check-ups, but I’ve been a little busy with work, life, baby, and so on. My usual CNM couldn’t fit me in for another month, though, so the receptionist asked if I’d mind having a quick check-up with another care provider in the meanwhile. I said sure, that would be okay, and she clicked around and looked things up in her computer. 

“I can put you with Dr. _____ next Tuesday,” she said.

What? I was startled. Yes, I realized there are doctors–both GPs and OBs–who offer well-woman care, but I’ve never gone to one. I told the receptionist I wanted a midwife.

“Really? You don’t want to see a doctor?”

Uh, no, thanks, I’ll wait for a midwife. Finally, after a lot of grumbling on the receptionist’s part, she managed to squeeze me in with “my” midwife after all.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Quick link: Jennifer Block on freedom of choice pregnant and loving it?

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


