Nursing a toddler. . . more comments

22 January 2010 at 1:27 am 3 comments

On Monday I met a few other mamas and their kids at an indoor playspace with my son–and my husband, actually, since it was a stock market holiday. We rarely get to enjoy things like this as a whole family, and we had a great time.

For most of the time, my husband and son explored the animal hospital, soft climbing structures, play food, and other excitement, while I chatted with my friends. At one point, though, my seventeen-month-old son ran over to me and indicated that he wanted to nurse. 

We never consistently did baby signs with him, and he doesn’t yet have a word/sound that he uses to refer to nursing, but he just climbed up onto my lap, sitting perpendicular to my body, and leaned his head back–pretty clearly saying, Okay, mom, I’m in the right position, now do your thing. I popped out a breast and he latched on, and I mostly kept talking with my friends while he nursed.

Suddenly my friends got quiet, and I noticed there was a little girl, maybe three years old or so, standing in front of me. I was sitting in a child-sized chair (that’s pretty much all there were), so my son on my lap was right on her level. She leaned in very close. My son remained unfazed. She pointed, her toddler finger about an inch from my breast.

“I did do that with my mama,” she said. 

“That’s nice,” I said. “A lot of babies do this.” 

“What’s the baby’s name?” she asked, and I told her.

“Bye-bye, Marcus!” she said, waving at my breast/baby, and walked away.

It made me so happy–just the idea first of all that nursing a toddler can be a normal thing, and next that she was able to remember her own nursing relationship. So yeah, file this one under “Nursing a toddler, comments on, positive.” 

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

pregnant and loving it? For what ails you

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna S  |  22 January 2010 at 11:56 pm

    What a cool and beautiful story! Thank you for sharing! I bet that will be my daughter some day!

    Reply
  • […] on comments from family, friends, and strangers on nursing my toddler: at fifteen months, at seventeen months, at eighteen months, at twenty-three months, and at thirty-one months (whoa, that’s a lot of […]

    Reply
    • 3. Erika Howard  |  1 August 2012 at 12:01 pm

      this one is great! I thought that kid was gonna ask if she could nurse too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


