Babies everywhere!

7 July 2010 at 10:29 am Leave a comment

This weekend I went to a friend’s wedding about two hours west of Chicago, in the middle of farm-country Illinois. The friend was nice enough to include my son on the invitation, so we gladly brought him along. What a wonderful, family-friendly wedding this was–there were ¬†babies and kids everywhere, so much so that my son couldn’t stop talking about them during the ceremony. “Baby!” he said, pointing behind us. “Girl!” (looking off to our left), “Baby!” (across the aisle), “Girl!” (several rows back), “Baby!” (three rows in front of us).

At the reception, when I thanked the bride again for inviting all of us (and while my son played on the edge of the dance floor with three of the groom’s tiny cousins), she said it was nothing–they of course wanted to include all the kids. “The caterers looked at us kind of strangely, though,” she said, “when we told them we had ten infants and fourteen kids between two and ten!”

Wow–ten infants, fourteen kids? My two-year-old son was in heaven–there really were babies everywhere!

Still, though, my son is insistent that he is not a baby. If my husband says something to me from the back of the house, “Do you have the baby’s shoes?”, say, and I yell back that I do, my son will start asking where the baby is. Which baby? Here? Where? Show me the baby! Well, on Saturday, we did.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Midwife spotting! Book review: Permission to Mother

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


