Nice comment on nursing a toddler in public

26 July 2010 at 9:41 am 4 comments

I was on the T the other day, and my almost two-year-old son wanted to nurse. He’s a pretty energetic, always-on-the-go kid, so basically I think he figures that if we’re on the T and we have to be sitting down, well, heck, he’s there, the breast is there, so he might as well.

This was the Orange Line, midday but still crowded near downtown, and I had a large man with headphones at my left and an older woman on my right. The older woman had already smiled at Marcus when we entered and he was on my back, and then again when I took him down and sat him on my lap. Then, Marcus was nursing with his head toward her, but I was wearing a nursing top with empire-style openings so there really wasn’t any skin showing. She kind of looked over at him at that point, and then looked closer, and said, “Ah!” when she figured out what he was doing.

“How old?” she asked me.

“Almost two,” I said.

Very good,” she said, “very good!”

We went on to have a nice conversation–she told me she’s from Eithiopia, she nursed all her babies as long as she could, until they stopped on their own or she got pregnant again, or both, but that her daughter, living here, only used bottles and she didn’t think anyone did things “the old way” anymore.

That was absolutely the encounter I needed this week!

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

On more positive notes–rinse with carbs for extra energy in labor?? URGENT Action Alert: Please post to all lists!!!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LC  |  28 July 2010 at 11:20 am

    Wonderful! Simply wonderful! When it comes to nursing and birth, things should always be done the old way. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. christine  |  30 July 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Love to hear stories like this. Recently I was out with a friend who was breastfeeding her baby, a woman came up to her and shared her experience of nursing all 4 of her children, her youngest nursed to age 5! Wonderful story!

    Reply
  • […] and strangers on nursing my toddler: at fifteen months, at seventeen months, at eighteen months, at twenty-three months, and at thirty-one months (whoa, that’s a lot of […]

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  25 April 2011 at 8:21 am

    I was recently sitting in a shopping centre nursing my 20 month old and a very elderly lady sat down next to me.

    She struck up a conversation after a few minutes of sitting looking at my daughter – turns out she is a retired midwife and RN (from Korea – but I think she was a midwife in both Korea and Australia) who fed her 4 children well into childhood. It was fascinating having a chat with her and lovely to hear her encouragement, it made my day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


