Summer Babies

2 August 2010 at 4:33 pm 1 comment

I had a summer baby–an end-of-summer baby, to be precise–so summer makes me nostalgic. Really, though, I wonder what time of the year doesn’t make me nostalgic–on April 1st (2009) he pulled up to standing for the first time on his own; on June 2nd (2010) he called me “Mommy” for the first time. My baby has rewritten my calendar, it’s become apparent. At any rate, in the summer, when I see pregnant women or babies, I think back to being hugely pregnant and walking around, working, taking the train and the bus, going to the library, going food shopping, all that summer before I had my baby. I smile at the women now and try to hold doors for them. With my almost-two-year-old on my back (exclaiming “Baby! Baby! Baby lying down! Baby sleeping?”), we run around holding doors for stroller-pushing new mamas around the city, at all the same places–the library, the supermarket, the subway. I saw an 11-day-old baby on the subway the other day, and that made me smile all the more: we took my son (wrapped up close to my chest, wearing just a diaper and tee shirt under the wrap) on the subway at 14 days, and the looks we got from people not used to seeing such a young baby out and about were countless.

So, here’s to all the summer babies, and summer mamas, out there–hang in there, fall is around the corner!

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Great babywearing slideshow Baby’s birth book

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessica Montalino  |  4 August 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Tt is funny having had a winter baby, i see so many mamas out and about earlier than we were. I went outside on new years day about a week after my son was born for just a quick second (the preparation took about 20 minutes). After that we didn’t leave the house for three weeks! What a difference it makes depending on what season you’re little one is born in. Thanks for sharing and making me nostalgic for winter while we’re in the throws of summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


