One thing I missed after giving birth. . .

16 August 2010 at 1:37 am 1 comment

Know what I really missed after giving birth? I missed my nightly ritual of falling asleep to the Hypnobirthing tracks on my iPod. They were so calming, so soothing, and so optimistic–they helped me look forward to something so wonderful, and they helped me imagine it as wonderful and helped it to be wonderful, in turn–that I genuinely missed them after my baby was born.

Oh, sure, I could have kept listening to them just for the relaxation factor, or the nostalgia, but in some ways that seemed like looking backward when I had my beautiful baby beside me in bed and just wanted to live in the now. On a more practical note, I was also afraid of having my iPod in bed with me and baby because I didn’t want to risk the headphone wires getting tangled around baby’s neck.

Still, I definitely had some insomnia–almost for the first time in my life–after my baby was born. He’d be sleeping good long stretches, 5+ hours at a time, from relatively early on, and I’d be up all night. I could have used Hypnobirthing: The Sequel, or something like that. Oh yeah, and wireless headphones.

What did you miss after giving birth?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Baby’s birth book Mom + baby–when do they separate?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tea Dress :  |  30 October 2010 at 2:07 pm

    wireless headhones are really the best, i really hate those lengthy cables of conventional headphones :

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


