Old Enough to Ask for It

25 November 2010 at 11:23 am 1 comment

My son–now two years and three months old–developed a word for nursing over the summer, “wuh-wuh-wuh,” which has recently been shortened to “wuh-wuh.” Everyone in the family (Marcus, my husband, and I) all now use this word, as both a noun and a verb, and the linguist in me (never mind the lactivist!) is delighted.

  • He wakes up in the middle of the night, and my husband goes to him, “No, Mommy wuh-wuh!” he explains.
  • He nuzzles against my shirt on a bus or subway while sitting on my lap. “Do you want to wuh-wuh-wuh?” I ask.
  • He’s sitting on my husband’s lap at night, reading a book and yawning. “How about we say goodnight and you go lie down with Mommy and wuh-wuh-wuh?” my husband suggests.
  • He’s on my lap nursing from the left breast, when he finishes, pats my right breast, and indicates he wants to switch: “Other wuh-wuh!” he directs.
  • He’s in a mei tai on my back as I finish the grocery shopping when he announces that he wants to wuh-wuh-wuh. “Okay,” I say, as I slide my credit card through, “we can wuh-wuh as soon as Mommy finishes here. Two more minutes.”

What about you? What do your toddlers say when they want to nurse, and have you found yourself using their words?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Primping post-delivery, vs. skin-to-skin contact and bonding? Getting your insurance to pay for your home birth

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


