“Are you going to, you know, do that all again?”

15 May 2011 at 3:31 pm 1 comment

I’m pregnant now, ten weeks along with our second child. One question I’ve been getting from people who knew I had a homebirth for our first is exactly this: “Are you going to, you know, do that all again?” This is usually accompanied by a vague wave of a hand, which apparently means following my hippee tendencies/avoiding ultrasounds/avoiding prenatal testing/using a midwife/having a homebirth. I just smile and say, yes, of course I am, why wouldn’t I?

Usually that’s where people drop it, though I did get one comment back along the lines of, “Well, sure it was a great experience, but now you’ve done that. . .” This idea makes no sense to me: I didn’t have a homebirth because it was on my bucket list, and now I’ve crossed it off. Yes, it was an amazing experience, but I had a homebirth because I thought it was safest and best for me and the baby. Barring an unforeseen medical complication between now and delivery, that hasn’t changed.

Besides, having my first child around now (he’ll be almost three and a half at the time of the birth) makes a homebirth make even more sense, I think: why would I want to—unless I absolutely absolutely had to—go away from him in labor, see him only at a brief visit once in a hospital (a strange and scary place to little kids) with a new baby suddenly there, attached to my breast, and then bring that baby home into his house in an abrupt way a few days later? With a homebirth, my son can be as much a part of the process as he wants to be. We’ll have my parents here for the birth, as they were last time, and my father will be my son’s point-person during the labor and birth.

So yeah, I’m planning to “do all that again.” You bet!

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Eleven Days “Natural Birth Subculture”?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessica G  |  19 May 2011 at 8:25 am

    congrats!!!!
    I agree- being separated from my son (3 1/2) was the most stressful thing around my (amazing) hospital birth. We really lucked out in the end- the timing ended up working, but we were very worried that our son would end up being woken up in the middle of the night to be taken to a friends house til grandparents were there, etc. etc. We had several people lined up for some times, but other times I was less confident about our plan. It just was a lot of work to set up a care plan (we don’t have family close 5 & 7 hours away)
    My labor went pretty fast so that he ended up stlll being at a program wth a dear friend- we were lucky to be at a hospital that even allowed children in. It was also hard to know if I would have wanted the additional caretaker with us for the birth- and we didn’t want our son to be stuck in the hospital room.

    I also missed seeing my son meet my daughter, which was no one’s fault, I just happened to be in the bathroom when he got there )-: But I would have loved to have seen him enter the room and meet his sister for the first time.

    Of course, at home, all of that would have been a lot easier to manage (and cheaper, too, with hospital copays)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


