Happy Mommy’s Day!

4 June 2011 at 11:54 am Leave a comment

So, I bet you’re wondering about the title of this post–Mommy’s Day? Like Mother’s Day, almost a month late? What gives?

Well, my son said “Daddy” when he was a year old, and then added all sorts of words to his vocabulary over the next nine months–animals, colors, verbs, foods, etc., but had never said “Mom,” “Mommy,” “Mama,” or any variant of those. When he was 21 months old, he learned the word “peacock” (we were visiting a part of India with lots of them) and started saying something that sounded like “Manma” for “Grandma,” but still had never called me anything. I was on the verge of banning all zoos and grandparent contact for life, if this situation continued, when on June 2nd of last year my son said, “Mommy?” and I started leaping up and down yelling like a lunatic, “YES! THAT’S ME! I’M MOMMY! MOMMY! MOMMY!” It was an amazing feeling.

A year later, even when I hear a 3:00 in the morning yell, “Mommy! I can’t find my ‘monica!” (his much-loved harmonica, which he takes to bed with him, then loses in the bed and can’t find when he wakes up and wants to hold it for comfort), I still love the sound of the word. So, a couple days late, happy Mommy’s Day to you all, mommies and non-mommies alike!

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Applause Skipping. . . um, everything

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives


