What’s your midwife appointment like?

27 June 2011 at 1:47 pm Leave a comment

Each midwife runs prenatal appointments slightly differently than the next, but all tend to be more relaxed and leisurely than the average OB appointment.

This was my last appointment, at twelve weeks.

  • Midwife and her 10-month-old baby arrive at my house, put down their stuff, chat.
  • We have a glass of water and she visits with my 2.5-year-old son in the living room.
  • She asks me how I’ve been feeling in a general way, and compares this pregnancy to my first one (which she also attended).
  • Our kids play with train tracks for awhile, and we talk about babies and nutrition.
  • She feeds her son.
  • She takes my pulse and blood pressure.
  • She feels my belly and finds the baby, briefly, on the Doppler.
  • We have another glass of water and some fruit.
  • We talk about babywearing and wraps.
  • She lets me know when the next appointment will probably be and tells me about a new phone number she has.
  • She leaves, two hours after she arrived.

What’s your midwife appointment like?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Quick Links: motherhood in the US, breastfeeding in Niger Athlete moms

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives


