Placental encapsulation–yea or nay?

25 August 2011 at 5:15 pm 2 comments

This local placenta encapsulator was recommended to me recently, and as I think about my upcoming homebirth, I’m not yet decided whether to go this route. The squeamish factor that some cite doesn’t bother me, but I am truly terrible at taking pills. Awful. I gag every time. I nearly vomit every third or fourth time. Tylenol caplets? No way, can’t swallow them. Vitamins? Ditto. My mother rolls her eyes at me and asks why I haven’t “grown out of” this; my husband also thinks it’s a crazy put-on behavior, but I just gag and choke, despite attempts with water and applesauce and Jello, you name it. So, personally, I like the idea of placental encapsulation, but I am not at all sure I’d be able to physically get the things down.

Of course, there’s always the placenta smoothie option, but here the squeamish factor does play a role for me–and also for my relatives who will be my post-partum support and might end up making these, at least the first few days.

What about you? Thoughts?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Birth circles, homebirth meet-ups, and other social events “Necesareans”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna S  |  25 August 2011 at 7:21 pm

    I would do it. My postpartum period was hard. I would try this if it meant the transition would be more manageable. The big question is whether or not I’ll ever be pregnant again!

    Reply
  • 2. Joy  |  13 September 2011 at 9:08 am

    Personally, I can’t see any reason to do this. Anemia can be treated by eating foods or vitamins rich in iron. I fixed my low breastmilk supply with fenugreek and blessed thistle. As for the baby blues, mine didn’t kick in until I stopped breastfeeding, so a 6-week supply of *anything* would not have been enough to combat my PPD. Eating my own (disposable) organs doesn’t seem like a reasonable solution to these potential problems to me.

    That being said, why wouldn’t you just chew the capsules? Honestly, how could that be worse than a “placenta smoothie”?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives


