Mini-Reivew of Magical Beginnings by Deepak Chopra

20 October 2011 at 1:25 pm Leave a comment

Somehow, though I read extensive about pregnancy and birth with my first child, I never came across this volume, so I recently picked up Magical Beginnings, Enchanted Lives: A Holistic Guide to Pregnancy and Childbirth, by Deepak Choprea and David Simon (Three Rivers Press, 2005). It’s hard to “review” a book like this, I think. For one thing, some people are simply going to hate it because of the author, the approach, and the style, and that’s fine–obviously, don’t read this if it’s not at all your kind of book, even judging from the title alone. Beyond that, though, it’s very much a book that I personally needed to pick and choose from, and take what was useful to me and leave the rest. There are some fascinating anecdotes about how pregnancy and birth are approached in different parts of the world, and those were generally new to me, even though I’ve read a lot on the subject. Thinking of this book as a combination of Birthing from Within, Hypnobirthing, and some works of birth anthropology really helped me make sense of it, though, and for that I think it was an interesting and worthwhile read.

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mini-Review of Origins by Annie Murphy Paul Another parent vs. person identity crisis

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


