High-protein snacks for pregnancy and beyond

22 November 2011 at 1:09 pm Leave a comment

I guess I’m nesting (at 38 weeks along).

I’ve stashed ziploc baggies of raw almonds around the house, near my bed and favorite nursing chair, and I I just made 6 dozen high-protein pancakes and stuck them in the freezer for the next couple weeks, and beyond. These pancakes are packed with cooked quinoa, instead of flour, and have about twice as many eggs as a typical panckae recipe. I just ate some for lunch, topped with Greek-style (thick) plain yogurt. My toddler thought yogurt on pancakes was a crazy idea, so he just ate the plain pancakes.

I made sure we have a supply of peanut butter, and, even easier to eat during labor or afterward, what my toddler calls “a pean’ butter squeeze in my mouth snack”–also known as Barney’s Almond Butter in individual packets.

Next I’m going to go hard boil a dozen eggs to snack on.

What’s your favorite high-protein snack for pregnancy, labor, or after baby arrives?

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Book review: Cynthia Gabriel’s _Natural Hospital Birth_ Nursing through pregnancy, and super gentle weaning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Updates

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


