The Intangible Gifts of Breastfeeding

20 December 2010 at 1:23 am 5 comments

WELCOME, Carnival of Breastfeeding Readers!

Here’s a holiday post for this December’s Carnival of Breastfeeding–check the links at the bottom of this post (updated throughout the day) for others’ thoughts on the subject.

What are the gifts of breastfeeding? I think they fall into two main categories:

First, the basics: nutrition, vitamins, antibodies, and hydration for my son, through infancy, daycare winters, childhood viruses, toddler picky-eater phases, and even international travel in 115-degree heat

Next, the everything-elses:

  • quiet, calmness, comfort, and peace, for my son and for me and anyone else in the vicinity, during plane rides and bus rides and subway rides and restaurant meals and Sunday School classes and museums and airport lines
  • joy for my son and for me, as we laugh and tickle each other and read books while nursing and play silly games, and gaze into each other’s eyes to reconnect after a day of work for me
  • self-satisfaction for me, that with the (in my view) God-given miracle of the human body and the practical help of midwives and lactation consultants, I was able to avoid formula and cow’s milk entirely and give my son the milk he thrives on
  • education, in the form of a new perspective on nursing and birth and natural parenting for my husband and others we influence, that breastfeeding (now particularly “extended” breastfeeding, since our son is over two years old) is normal and healthy and beautiful.

Read the other contributors to this month’s Carnival here:

–Christina

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“A Doll That Gives Birth”? So what? Merry Christmas!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The 12 Gifts Of Breastfeeding-Momma's Angel  |  20 December 2010 at 12:06 pm

    […] Please visit: Motherwear Breastfeeding Blog: Unexpected Gift of Breastfeeding Massachusetts Friend of Midwives: Intangible Gifts of Breastfeeding […]

    Reply
  • 2. Lan  |  20 December 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Hi, Cristina. I’m so glad you covered “the everything-elses” because those really are the grateful gifts of breastfeeding after meeting the initial challenge of the breastfeeding learning curve!

    Reply
  • 3. Elita @ Blacktating  |  20 December 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Reconnecting with the baby after a long day at work was the best feeling. I remember sometimes my milk would let down so fast my son would choke! But it was such a wonderful feeling to finally be able to snuggle him when I got home after a long day at work.

    Reply
  • 4. Breastfeeding: My baby’s gift to me – The Milk Mama  |  20 December 2010 at 1:41 pm

    […] The intangible gifts of breastfeeding at Massachusetts Friends of Midwives […]

    Reply
  • 5. Christina  |  20 December 2010 at 3:37 pm

    so true about the quiet on planes, etc. Two of the times breastfeeding has been the best gift for me were on plane rides and at my grandfather’s funeral. I nursed my baby through the whole service and it meant so much to me to be present there and not have to step out with him crying. Everyone commented on what a good, quiet baby he was, but the trick was breastfeeding!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Updates

December 2010
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives